Delicious and Easy Banana Bread

I have been super busy trying to wrap up all of my many to-do lists before Little O arrives sometime this month, and one of the things I’ve been working on today is prepping some food to have on hand in the freezer! I have a very tiny freezer. So unfortunately I can’t prep a bunch of meals, but I did want to have a few things on hand, including some things for snacks or breakfasts. One of the things I made is this banana bread.

I found this recipe in the newspaper almost a decade ago, and I still use it today. It’s easy, fast, and doubles and freezes great. Make sure you use thin disposable aluminum pans for baking, this keeps the bread moist through a long bake. They can be washed and reused too!

What you need:

  • Two mashed ripe bananas (about a cup)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt

What to do:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix banana and water, then add brown sugar, then oil, then eggs. Beat or whisk until smooth. In a separate bowl, whisk together remaining dry ingredients, then fold into banana mixture until just combined. Scrape into 3 greased mini disposable pans or 1 9-inch pan. (Doubling the recipe gave me two 9-inch plus one mini loaf) Bake until firm and golden brown, 50 minutes for the mini loaves and 70 for the large. You don’t want to overcook it, the middle might still seem a bit gooey when it comes out but it is in fact done! Let stand a few minutes, then turn onto a wire rack to finish cooling.

That’s it! Super easy and delicious. Of course as I typed this up I realized that I forgot the eggs. So. Unsure how this batch will taste. I did something weird with the bread I made as well (I think I killed the yeast) so the moral of the story is maybe 9 month pregnant me shouldn’t try to bake multiple things at once, especially given my knack for screwing up in the kitchen. Oh well.

If you want to hear about some of my other kitchen mishaps, check out this post!

Leave a Reply

